A little bit at a time

I finally managed to find some time this past weekend to do some clean up, if only for a few hours.

My garden went from 9 raised beds to a full on veggie show, 15+ rows of tomatoes, peppers, cukes, zukes, cantaloupes, etc. Now, we have a high tunnel with a few raised beds and rows of strawberries.

The progressive changes on the vegetable growing side of the farm left the 9 raised beds unused for the most part. A lot of people would wonder why would I show this because doesn’t this represent failure? Of course this does.  Life isn’t perfect and my life is messy. Does that mean give up or worse don’t even try?? Heck no. Not for me. It simply means, “get busy girl, there’s work to do”. These raised beds are perfect for bulb and tuber plants.

Sept 2015 003

Somewhere in there are nine 24′ x 4′ beds. In it are several varieties of mint, strawberries, asparagus, raspberries, and blackberries. This was my first homesteading project. Now, it’s just one big hot mess. This season was really no help at all. Lots of rain, cool weather, and voila the best season for everything I don’t want growing…grr.

Sept 2015 004These trimmers are amazing and we can’t live without them on the farm. Talk about wear and tear. This is our 2nd trimmer.

Yes, there are paths between the beds…

Sept 2015 006

The weeds and grass were higher than my waist. It took a nice chunk of time out to get the paths cleared. I get mad, I get frustrated, and in the end it’ll get done.

Sept 2015 007

The challenge is time. I belong in the “weekend warrior” category. With the days getting shorter and fall wet weather closing in, time is against me.

Sept 2015 005

It feels amazing being able to work it and give it some love. You may not be able to envision it yet, but this garden will be beautiful again.

Leave a comment